The 35-year old African Cup of Nations soccer game drawing for 2013 will hold today in South Africa according to an official release from the Confederation of African Football (CAF).


The soccer event  which used to hold every 2 years had its format changed during the last assembly of CAF,  the competition will now run every odd-numbered year.


A total of 16 teams, including host South Africa, have qualified for the recently concluded 2013 CAF African Cup of Nations qualifying series across the continent.  The other national soccer teams participating include Algeria, Angola, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Mali, Morocco, Niger, Nigeria, South Africa, Togo, Tunisia, and Zambia.


According to the pool that will be used to do the balloting today Nigeria may likely be in the same group as Cote D'ivoire and Ghana.


The Technical Committee Chairman of the Nigeria football association, Barrister Chris Green, Head Coach of the Super Eagles Stephen Okechukwu Keshi and the Secretary of Nigeria's soccer team, Super Eagles, Mr. Dayo Achor, are already on the ground to represent Nigeria.


Below is the event schedule as released by CAF:


Wed. 24th Oct. 2012


11 am (Media expected at 10:30am) ICC Durban


Room 22


Draw of the 29th AFCON 2013 Wed. 24th Oct. 2012


08:30pm (Media expected at 06:30pm) ICC Durban


Press conference (CAF - LOC) Thu. 25th Oct. 2012


10:30 am (Media expected at 10; 00am) SunCoast (Delano room)

You may also like

Read Next