Chairman of the Authority of Heads of State and Government of ECOWAS, President John D. Mahama is set to swear in seven newly-appointed Judges for the ECOWAS Court in his capital Accra.

A release signed by Ms Elohor Ovadje, Information Officer at the ECOWAS Court, said the appointment was necessitated by the retirement of six members of the bloc's Community Court of Justice at the Seat of the Court in Abuja, Nigeria.

The 7 judges were approved at the 44th summit of regional leaders held in Yamoussoukro last March, following the report of the regional Judicial Council charged with the recruitment of the judges of the community court.

They are Mr. Jerome Traore (Burkina Faso), Mrs. Maria Do Cue Montero Silva, (Guinea Bissau) Mr. Yaya Boiro of Guinea,  Mr. Micah Wilkins Wright (Liberia), Mr. Hameye Foune Mahlmadane (Mali), Mr. Friday Chijioke Nwoke (Nigeria) and Mr. Alioune Sall (Senegal).

The Community Court of Justice is originally mandated which to deal with the interpretation and application of community texts and human rights. It also plays the role of arbitration and serves as a public service court for the community on matters between the community and its staff.

Meanwhile, a valedictory court session in honor of the six retiring judges has been held.

You may also like

Read Next

Trending Now