The House of Representatives election for Speaker has just ended, with Yakubu Dogora (Tafawa Balewa/ Bogoro, Bauchi  constituency), defeating   Femi Gbajabiamila (Surelere, Lagos constituency). Yakubu Dogara

The election followed a controversial election in the Upper House in which Senator Bukola Saraki of Kwara Central Senatorial District emerged Senate President as he appeared to go into business for himself in  cooperation with the Peoples Democratic Party.  Other members of his party, the All Progressives Congress were holding a “peace meeting” elsewhere at the time, and were outflanked.  

In what appeared to be a pre-planned manoeuvre, Saraki was immediately sworn-in as the President of the 8th Senate.

You may also like

Read Next