Senate Confirms Yakubu As INEC Chairman

On Thursday the Senate confirmed Professor Mahmood Yakubu as the Independent National Election (INEC) Chairman.  Dr. Yakubu was previously a professor of history and international relations at Bauchi State University, as well as the Executive Secretary of the Tertiary Education Trust Fund.

Dr. Yakubu will succeed Attahiru Jega who completed his five year term in June.  

The five national commissioners were also confirmed including Amina Zakari (Northwest), Anthonia Okoosi-Simbine (North Central), Baba Shettima Arfo (Northeast), Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (Southwest), and Mohammed Mustafa Lecky (South-South).

SaharaReporters exposed Mr. Lecky last week when it was revealed that he abused the power of his office when he was the Chief Executive Officer of the National Health Insurance Scheme (NHIS). The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) investigated him for granting his own company lucrative contracts from the NHIS and for banking fraud.

You may also like

Read Next

Trending Now