African heads of state meeting in Kigali on Monday failed to elect a new African Union chairperson and consequently postponed the election to January.

The three candidates vying for the position were former Ugandan Vice President Specioza Wandira Kazibwe, former Botswanan Foreign Minister Pelonomi Venson-Moitoi, and former Equatorial Guinean Foreign Minister Agapito Mba Mokuy.

No candidate secured the two-thirds majority required to be elected chairperson, leaving the current chairperson, South African Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, in place.

It was gathered that in the first round of the election, the Botswana candidate received 16 votes, Equatorial Guinea, 12 votes, and Uganda, 11 votes. Ms. Kazibwe of Uganda allegedly dropped out of the race after the first round.

According to a BBC Africa correspondent, some countries did not vote, as they felt that none of the candidates had the experience required to lead the continental organization. Similarly, AFP reported that the candidates were mostly unknown and "lacked stature" to run the AU.

AU headquarters, Addis Ababa

You may also like

Read Next

Trending Now