Segun Abraham, the frontline aspirant of the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ondo State, has accepted the results of Saturday's APC governorship primary election. 

Mr. Abraham, in a congratulatory message issued on Sunday in Akure, conceded victory to Mr. Rotimi Akeredolu, who emerged as the governorship candidate of the opposition party in the State.

Mr. Abraham was the preferred ‘anointed candidate’ of the party’s national financer, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, for the race.

“I congratulate Rotimi Akeredolu, who emerged with 669 votes at the primary election of our great party, the APC, in Ondo State," Mr. Abraham said.

“My special regards and admiration for Alhaji Baderu Abubakar, the Governor of Jigawa State, and his team for their sterling quality and integrity in conducting the APC governorship primary in Ondo State.

“I also thank my teeming supporters for showing maximum solidarity throughout the campaign till now. I am not unaware of the pain you feel right now; with so much fervor, you all took our message of industrializing Ondo State to every nook and cranny. Thank you.

“I pray that our God will bring the much-needed prosperity we seek to Ondo State in earnest.

“I will not turn my back to my loving people of Ondo. I will continue to contribute my quota to the development of our State in any way God directs,” the message read.

Mr. Abraham also promised to remain loyal to the party and its ideals and principles.

Rotimi Akeredolu polled a total votes of 669 to defeat his closest rival Mr. Abraham, who secured 635 votes, placing him second in the contest.

Mr. Akeredolu, a former President of the Nigeria Bar Association (NBA), was the 2012 governorship candidate of the defunct Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) in Ondo State that contested alongside the incumbent Governor Olusegun Mimiko.

A SaharaReporters news correspondent reported that twenty-four aspirants of the APC jostled for the ticket in the Saturday governorship primary election, which was keenly contested and transparent.

Some of the results of the election are: Olusola Oke – 576 votes, Ajayi Borrofice- 471 votes, Tayo Alasoadura- 206 votes, Bode Ayorinde- 67 votes, Jumoke- Ajasin Anifowose- 1 vote, Tunji Ariyomo- 2 votes, Tunji Abayomi- 5 votes, Afemi Mayowa- 13 votes, Adegbomire Adebiyi- 8 votes, Adekunle Adekunle- 8 votes, Ayo Akinyelure- 3 votes and Jamiu Afolabi, 44 votes, Ademola Adegoroye- 0 votes, Bukola Adetula -8 votes, Foluso Adefemi - 13 votes, Victor Olabimtan- 18 votes and Boye Oyewumi –7 votes.

Our correspondent gathered that a total of 2774 delegates were accredited to vote during the exercise which was strictly monitored by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). 

Segun Abraham

You may also like

Read Next