Mr. Akinlolu Osinbajo, a former Ogun State Attorney-General/Justice Commissioner and brother to acting President Yemi Osinbajo; human rights activist, Mr. Festus Keyamo; and Mr. Olusola Oke, Alliance for Democracy candidate in the last Ondo State governorship election, were among the 30 lawyers conferred with the prestigious rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN) on Thursday. 

The decision to confer them with the award was taken on Thursday at the 127th meeting of the Legal Practitioners' Privileges Committee (LPPC), the conferring body, and announced at a press conference after the meeting by Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court and LPPC Secretary, Mrs. Hadizatu Uwani Mustapha. 

According to Mrs. Mustapha, the conferees will start wearing their new rank at a ceremony slated for 18 September. This raises the number lawyer conferred with the rank since inception in 1975 to 481.

Others conferred with the award include Mr. Kamorudeen Adeyemi Ajibade, Kwara State Attorney- General and Justice Commissioner; Professor Adedeji Olusegun Adekunle, Director-General, Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (NIALS); Mr Chiezonu Okpoko of the Federal Ministry of Justice and former Ogun State Education Mr. John Olusegun Odubela.

Also named are Mrs. Oluwatoyin Ajoke Bashorun (the only female on the list), Messrs. Chibuike Adindu Nwokeukwu, Johnnie Nnaemeka Egwuonwu, Bert Chukwuneta Igwilo, Sylvester Emenike Elema, Wilcox Achace Abereton, Francis Forum Egele, Enefiok Effiong Essien,  Saiq S. Shikyl, Adebambo Anthony Adewopo and Nasser Abdu Dangiri.                

Equally honored are Messrs. Emeka Peter Okpoko, Sani Hussani Garun-Gabbas, Abdul Atadoga Ibrahim, Gboyega Sanni Oyewole, Joshua Yusuf Musa, Ibrahim Sani Mohammed, Ekemejero Ohwovoriole, Oyetola Oshobi, Sulaiman Usman and Kehinde Olamide Ogunwumijo.

Festus Keyamo

You may also like

Read Next