Forty-eight Senators have voted against the devolution of powers in the  ongoing voting on 32 areas to be amended in the 1999 Constitution of the country. 

Our correspondent report that 46 voted in support of the devolution of powers and one of the Senators abstained.

The voting is still ongoing.

Devolution is the statutory delegation of powers from the central government of a sovereign state to govern at a subnational level, such as a regional or local level. 

It is a form of administrative decentralization. Devolved territories have the power to make legislation relevant to the area.

Nigerian Senate

You may also like

Read Next