Olagunju Ojo, Speaker of the Oyo State House of Assembly, has left Labour Party for the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Aside Olagunju, six other lawmakers, including the Minority Leader, Ademola Ige, defected to three different parties.

Paul Bankole, Clerk of the House, read the separate letters of defection by the lawmakers during the plenary session in Ibadan.

According to NAN, the Speaker (Labour Party-Orire), Mrs Wunmi Oladeji (Labour Party-Ogbomoso North) and Solomon Olukayode (Labour Party-Ogbomoso South) defected to the All Progressives Congress.

On the other hand, Gbenga Oyekola (Labour Party-Atiba) and Peter Oyetunji (Labour Party-Ogo Oluwa/Surulere), defected to African Democratic Congress and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) respectively.

Ige (Accord Party-Ibadan South-East II) and Fatai Adesina (Accord Party-Ibadan South-East I) defected to ADC.

Meanwhile, the house has appealed to the Oyo State Commissioner of Police, Abiodun Odude, to put an end to gang-related crimes and violence in Oyo town.

The assembly also urged the commissioner to deploy competent police units to tackle the dastardly activities of criminal gangs.

This followed a Matter of Urgent Public Importance raised by Muideen Olagunju (Accord Party-Oyo East/Oyo West), who lamented that people were now living in fear due to the "dramatic upsurge in gang warfare".

“The acts of violence are traceable to battle for supremacy among bands of youths in certain black spots within the town.

You may also like

Read Next