Three more aspirants contesting for the Oyo State governorship ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have stepped down. 

The aspirants are Joseph Tegbe, Sola Ayandele, and Owolabi Babalola.

These aspirants withdrew from the race after a 30-minute negotiation at the venue of the primary election.

Ademola Seriki, Chairman of the APC Primary Election Committee in the state, led the negotiation and announced the decision of the aspirants to withdraw from the race. 

"These aspirants graciously made themselves available for some deliberations, after which they all decided to step down,” Seriki said at the open field of the Lekan Salami Stadium, Adamasingba, venue of the primary.

“These aspirants have asked all their supporters and delegates from the 33 local government areas and 315 wards of the state to support Adebayo Adelabu. 

Speaking on their behalf, Tegbe said they decided to step down “in the interest of unity.

"We have decided to withdraw from today's governorship primary poll for peace and unity to reign in our party,” he said. 

Sahara Reporters gathered that Adelabu is the anointed candidate of Oyo State Governor, Abiola Ajimobi. 

Our reporter learned that the choice of Adelabu, as preferred candidate of the APC, was arrived at shortly after an extensive midnight meeting between the Governor the APC bigwigs. 

Earlier, Alao Akala and AbdulAzeez Adeduntan had withdrawn from the primary. 

The Oyo State governorship primary is now between Adeniyi Akintola and Adebayo Akinlabu.

You may also like

Read Next

Trending Now