Nigeria’s Inspector-General of Police, Mohammed Adamu, has named new police commissioners for seven states and four strategic units.

In a statement on Thursday by Force Public Relations Officer, Frank Mba, Adamu said the move was to strengthen the security apparatus in the country and help tackle crime.

Those moved to new postings include Undie J. Adie (Osun), Johnson Babatunde Kokumo (Edo), Lawal Jimeta Tanko (Bauchi), Philip Sule Maku (Ebonyi), Ahmed Maikudi Shehu (Gombe), Bolaji Amidu Salami (Ondo), Joe Nwachukwu Enwonwu (Oyo), Evelyn T. Peterside (Eastern Port), Okon Etim Ene (EOD), Bello Maikwashi (Airport Command), Olukolu Tairu Shina (Anti-Fraud Unit (FCID Annex Lagos). 

Mba said, “The Inspector-General of Police charges the newly posted officers to ensure they consolidate and advance the gains of their predecessors particularly in the implementation of community-policing, crime prevention, public security, public safety and general crime fighting.

“The IGP also enjoins the citizens of the affected states to cooperate with the Commissioners of Police to enable them succeed in their new areas of responsibilities.”

See Also Police Buhari Decentralizes Force CID, Approves Police Reorganisation With Additional Commands

You may also like

Read Next