Super Eagles' AFCON Star, Mba, Oboabona, 22 Others Listed To Play Against Kenya's Harambee Stars

Super Eagles head coach, Stephen Okechukwu Keshi has unveiled a list of 24 home based professional players who will be joined later by their foreign based counterparts for the vital World Cup qualifier against the Harambee Stars of Kenya, scheduled for March 23 in Calabar, Cross River State.

Team Media Officer, Ben Alaiya quotes Scribe of the team, Dayo Enebi Achor, as saying that the full list of foreign based professionals will be unveiled on Thursday morning by the team’s technical crew as Keshi has mapped out plans to ensure that only qualified and ready players will be invited for the clash against Harambee Stars of Kenya.

On the 24-man list is Eagles home-based skipper, Chigozie Agbim, Sunday Mba, who was one of the heroes of Nigeria’s 2013 Afcon win, Godfrey Oboabona, the Sunshine Stars skipper, who featured in all games of the tournament in South Africa, Gabriel Reuben, Papa Idris and goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi all make a return to the team.

But the surprise package in the team is Shooting Stars of Ibadan goal keeper, Dele Ajiboye, who started with the U-17 and has been with the Flying Eagles, U23s and now the Super Eagles. A young and agile goalie, Ajiboye is expected to bring his wealth of experience through the ranks to stand in the battle for gloves for the national team.

The team will as usual encamp at Bolton White Apartment, Zone 7 in Abuja from Sunday, March 10, from where they will be joined by foreign based players next week for the trip to Calabar, venue of the encounter. Below is the complete list of invited players for the game against Kenya in Calabar.

Goalkeepers: 1. AGBIM Chigozie (Rangers)., 2 AKPEYI Daniel (Heartland), 3.  AJIBOYE Dele (3SC)

Defenders 4.  Egwueke Azubuike (Warri Wolves), 5. Papa Idris (Kano Pillars), 6.Zango Umar (Kano Pillars) 7. Oboabona Godfrey (Sunshine Stars) 8. Kwambe Solomon (Sunshine Stars) 9. Chibuzo Okonkwo (Rangers) 10. Ezekiel Bassey (Lobi Stars) 11. Benjamin Francis (Heartland) 12. Zubaru Muhammed (Tornadoes).

Midfielders and Forwards: 13. Mba Sunday (Nigeria) 14. Gabriel Ruben (Kano Pillars) 15. Gambo Muhammed (Kano Pillars) 16. Ubale Mannir (Kano Pillars) 17. Pius Samson (Ranchers Bees) 18. Ohanduku Gomo (Sharks) 19. Obinna Nwanchukwu (Heartland) 20. Saka Ayo (Enyimba) 21. Jiya Muhammed (Bayelsa Fc) 22. Emeka Ezeh (Rangers) 23. Anthony Okputu (Lobi Stars) 24. Adepoju Taofeek (3SC)

2 comment(s)
Post a comment


Thank you for all of your effort on this website. Debby really loves conducting investigations and it's really obvious why. Almost all notice all about the powerful method you offer both useful and interesting tactics on the website and welcome response from other ones on this concern and our own daughter is actually becoming educated a great deal. Take advantage of the remaining portion of the new year. You are conducting a fabulous job. prada shoes for men

Good one

This would be very good for the young lads in the country.

Post a comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
Comments are limited to a maximum of 1000 characters.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <p> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.