The US Department of Homeland Security has announced that arrivals from West African countries experiencing the Ebola outbreak will have to use one of five airports specially-equipped to screen for the Ebola disease.

President Barack Obama

According to an article in USA Today only travelers from Liberia, Sierra Leone, and Guinea will be affected by the new measures that the US government has put in place to help prevent travelers from bringing the Ebola virus into the US.

Beginning on Wednesday, travelers arriving from Ebola-affected African countries will have to use New York’s John F. Kennedy, Washington's Dulles, Chicago's O'Hare, New Jersey's Newark airport or Atlanta's Hartsfield-Jackson airports.

The new restrictions on West African travelers are unlikely to be seen as sufficient by many in the US, who have publicly called for total bans on arrivals from West Africa during the current Ebola crisis.

You may also like

Read Next

Trending Now