Skip to main content

APC Conducts Free Primaries In Ondo State

December 3, 2014

138 aspirants were cleared and jostled for the House of Assembly seat under the All Progressive Congress (APC) in Ondo State.

The All Progressive Congress (APC) has conducted its House of Assembly primaries ahead of the 2015 general election.


The primary conducted on Tuesday was devoid of violence in Ondo State with an open ballot system.

A SaharaReporters correspondent who monitored the event in the state reports that the primary election started at about 9 a.m. and witnessed an impressive turnout of delegates at Ondo West, Akoko North, Akoko South West, Akure South I & II, Akure North, Ondo East, and Idanre.

Both security operatives and electoral officers at the entrance of the designated venue screened all delegates.

The primary was conducted across the 18 local government areas of the state.

Delegates from each ward of the local government took turns to vote for their respective candidates at designated venues.

Chairman of the party in Ondo State, Mr. Isaac Kekemeke, had earlier told journalists that the primaries would help choose candidates that will represent the party for the house of assembly 2015 election.

Speaking earlier, the Akure Area Commander of the Nigeria Police Force in Ondo State, Mr. Edward Ajogun, said adequate security was provided for the peaceful orchestration of the election.

Ajogun disclosed that the primary election was rancor-free with the synergy enjoyed from other sister security agencies in the state.

Our correspodent who had monitored the election in the state capital reported that there were two constituencies in Akure South Local Government. The constituencies are Akure South Constituency I and II, which shares eleven wards. While Akure South Constituency I has Six wards, Constituency II has Five wards.

In Akure Constituency II, there were 141 total delegates and the result of the election: (1) Sunday Olajide-60, (2) Daisi Oluyi--48, (3) Abitogun Stephen-17, (4) Odere Olalekan-14, (5) Isijola Oladipupa-2, (6) Ayo Stela-Nili, (7) Otunba Fulani- Nill.

Mr. Sunday Olajide won the primary election in Akure South Constituency II.

In Akure South Constituency I, there were 172 delegates and the result of that election was: (1) Wale Alake-73, (2) Kunle Omobomi-12, (3) Aregbesola Festus- 87.

Mr. Kayode Asaolu, the returning officer, declared Aregbesola winner of the primary in Akure South Constituency I and added that the election was free and fair.

In Ondo West I, the Returning Officer, Titiloye Charles said Otunba Bola Fisayo Polled 101 votes against Awosika Olanrewaju 16 votes to become the candidate.

In Ondo West II, Akintunde Folajimi polled 76 votes to beat Adewale Williams who scored 72 votes.

In Idanre Constituency, Smart Omatadowa won, while Omolafe Adetarami and Segun Lemo declared winners for Okitipupa I and II. 

Other winners from Akoko Division are Akoko North East – Muyiwa Ogunyemi; Akoko Southwest 1 – Dr O. Kazeem; Akoko Southwest 11 – Olufemi Felemu Gud; Akoko Northwest 1 – Jamiu Sulaiman Maito and Akoko Northwest 11 – Musa Babatunde.

138 aspirants were cleared and jostled for the House of Assembly seat under the All Progressive Congress (APC) in Ondo State.