Skip to main content

Speaker Tambuwal Wins Sokoto APC Gubernatorial Primary

December 4, 2014

The Speaker of House of Representatives,  Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, has emerged as the Sokoto APC Gubernatorial candidate in a keenly contested primaries that lasted several hours with about 4,000 delegates from 23 Local Government Areas in the state.

The screening of the delegates commences at about 11 AM Nigerian time while voting started as soon as the screening was over. 


Chairman of gubernatorial election committee, Bolaji Khalil stated in his speech the  need to adhere to rules of the election and said all the contestants will be given equal treatment throughout the primary election exercise.

Delegates from Binji Local Government were the first to begin voting with Yabo Local Government delegate voting last.
After the voting was concluded, the sorting and counting began immediately and Chairman of gubernatorial election committee, Bolaji Khalil announced the result stating that  the winner has emerged. The result shows that, Senator Umaru Dahiru Tambuwal scored 23 votes, Malam Yusha’u Ahmad Muhammad Kebbe, 14 votes, Barrister Sanyinna 0 vote, and Senator Bello Jibrin Gada 0 vote, however, the Speaker, Aminu Waziri Tambuwal scored a total of 3,566 votes.

In his post-election speech, Tambuwal promise to carry all along and thanks all the delegates for their massive support. He said this is just the beginning and therefore call on all the APC supporters to ensure the victory of the party, come 2015.