Skip to main content

Confusion In Ondo PDP As Two Candidates Emerge In House Of Reps Primary

December 6, 2014

Two factions of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Ondo State on Saturday held separate primary elections to select candidates for election into the House of Representatives.


The two factions belong to aggrieved “Old” PDP and the “New” PDP members.

Correspondents of SaharaReporters who monitored the primaries in Akure, the state capital, reported that two separate hotels were used as venues to conduct the primary elections.

Members of the “Old” PDP met at Helena Hotel along Ado/Owo expressway while the “New” PDP members used Solton Hotel in Ijapo for their primaries.

In the end, two parallel candidates emerged from the factions to represent the party in Akure South and North Federal constituencies. The “Old” PDP faction selected Mr. Adedayo Omolafe whilst the “New” faction went for Mr. Dare Aliu.

Governor Olusegun Mimiko, who recently defected from the Labor to the PDP, is the main mastermind of the “New” PDP while a controversial businessman, Mr. Jimoh Ibrahim, controls the “Old” PDP. Both factional leaders have also chosen different parallel executive members for their state chapter. Mr. Mimiko’s executive is headed by Clement Faboyede, while Mr. Ibrahim’s executive is led by Olu Ogunye. Both men are from the central senatorial district of the state. Both have since christened their different camps “PDP Gbasibe” for the “New” PDP and “PDP Koniba” for the “Old” PDP members.

Our correspondent who visited the primary election at Helena Hotel reported that Mr. Adedayo Omolafe emerged as the party’s factional candidates for the Akure South and North Federal Constituency unopposed having polled 67 votes of the total delegates. Although 89 delegates were expected at the primary, 71 delegates showed up while 67 were accredited. All of them endorsed Mr. Omolafe.

Another correspondent at Solton Hotel reported that Mr. Dare Aliu emerged as the party’s consensus candidate for the same Akure South and North Federal constituency. 72 delegates attended the primary and unanimously picked Mr. Aliu.

The PDP in Akure South local government has 11 wards while Akure North local government has 12 wards. Ondo State has nine seats at House of Representatives.


Our correspondent also reported that Mr. Akin Akingbesote emerged as the party’s candidate in Idanre Ifedore Federal Constituency with 41 votes while Moshood Bakare scored 15 votes and Ayo Agbomuserin polled 10 votes.

A party source told our reporter that other factional candidates in the camp of Governor Mimiko were handpicked due to their loyalty to him. They also alleged that the governor was only using consensus candidate as a cover up. 

Officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and security agencies witnessed the separate primaries. Also present were PDP representatives from Abuja.

 Below are the lists of candidates produced by the parralel conventions of the old and new PDP in the state: 


(A) Jimoh Ibrahim’s Camp


1. Ondo East/West - Bisi Johnson

2. Akure North/South - Adedayo Omolafe.

3. Idanre/Ifedore - Akin Akingbesote

4. Ose/Owo - Femi Adekanbi

5. Akoko East/South - Martins Abiloye

6. Irele/Okitipupa - Akingboju Gboluga

7. Ilaje /Ese-Odo - Bamgbe Atimise

8. Odigbo/ Ile-Oluji -Oke-Igbo - Mayo Akinfolarin

9. Akoko-North East/West - Mrs. Abiye Adegboyegun


(B) Governor Olusegun Mimiko’s Camp


1. Akure North and South - Hon Dare Aliu

2.  Okitipupa/Irele - Prince Mike Omogbehin

3.  Ilaje/Ese Odo - Hon Victor Kolade Akinjo


4.  Ile Oluji/Oke Igbo - Hon Mayowa Akinfolarin,

5.   Akoko South East/South West - Hon. Debo Ologunagba

6.   Idanre/Ifedore - Hon. Dele Oshakuade,

7.  Owo/Ose - Alhaja Mrs Munirat Folasade Tinubu

8.   Akoko North East/North West - Hon. Michael Adenigba Akerele


9.    Ondo East/Ondo West - Hon Joseph Akinlaja