Skip to main content

Ondo National / State Assembly Election Petition Tribunal Begins Sitting

The election petitions tribunal for the March 28 National and April 11 State House of Assembly elections in Ondo State began its sitting today in Akure.


The Secretary of the tribunal, Barrister Jamilu Bakko, who revealed this to a SaharaReporters correspondent on Sunday, said that on account of the ongoing strike by the state judiciary workers, the tribunal chose the National Industrial Court as the venue of its sitting.

“There will be sitting on tomorrow (Monday) for motion exparte where there will be discussion on petitions filed before the petition tribunal”, he said.

He further disclosed that all the petitions filled before the election petitions tribunal—four in number—were received from candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who lost during the National Assembly elections in the state.

Bakko revealed that three of the petitions relate to contests for the House of Representatives, and the fourth for the Senate seat in the southern district of the state. 

According to him, Olabamide Olanubi (Ondo East/West Federal Constituency); Lucky Ayedatiwa (Ilaje/Ese-Odo); and Victor Olawole Akinmoyero (Okitipupa/Irele) federal constituencies, are challenging the victory of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidates in the various contests.

Morayo Lebi of the APC, who lost the Ondo Southern Senatorial election, is challenging the victory of Pastor Yele Omogunwa of the Peoples Democratic Party PDP, who was declared the winner of the contest.