Skip to main content

More Than 69 Defect To APC In Bayelsa State Ahead Of State Elections

At least seventy politicians from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Bayelsa State this weekend. Leading these defections is Timi Alaibe, the former Managing Director of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).


According to APC State leadership, the PDP defectors will be receive at a mega rally slated for Saturday August 15th.

Among the notable PDP leaders defecting include the immediate past Senator representing Bayelsa West Senatorial district Heineken Lokpobiri; former Acting Governors Nestor Binabo and Werinipre Seibarugu, former Deputy Governor of Bayelsa, Peremobowei Ebebi, Senator John Brambaifa, Senator Clever Ikisipo, and Ambassador Emmanuel Otiotio.

Also listed include the former House of Representatives member Dr. Stella Dorgu, former NDDC chairman Professor Tarila Tebepah, Rear Admiral FBI Porbeni (Rtd.). The former House members include Christopher Enai, Warman Ogoriba, Bonus Indiamaowei, Nelson Belief, Nadu Karibo, former Secretary to the State Government Gideon Ekeowe, and former Deputy Speaker Fini Angaye.

It was gathered that most defectors chose to decamp from the PDP due to influence from the former NDDC boss Timi Alaibe.

Meanwhile, the Bayelsa State Governor Seriake Dickson plans to declare his intent to run for a second term as Governor on August 28, according to statements form his Chief Press Secetary Daniel Markson-Iworiso.