Skip to main content

Seven Political Parties Form Alliance To Unseat Okowa

About seven political parties have joined forces in the bid to unseat Ifeanyi Okowa, Delta State Governor.


About seven political parties have joined forces in the bid to unseat Ifeanyi Okowa, Delta State Governor.

The parties decided to work together under the banner of 'Third Force', after a meeting of party aspirants held on August 25 at Casa De Pedro Hotel, Effurun, Delta State.

The alliance promised to present credible candidates at the 2019 polls, who will provide purposeful leadership when elected.

They are working towards presenting candidates for 44 elective positions in the state. 

A joint communique by the parties read: "We commit to present to the Delta State electorate 44 credible consensus candidates; governorship and deputy governorship candidates, Senatorial candidates, Federal House of Representatives candidates, 29 Delta State House of Assembly candidates."

Lamenting fees charged by political parties for nomination forms, which they described as "retrogressive", and an "impediment to the principle of youth inclusion in the democratic process", they stated that "The 'THIRD FORCE' is ready and willing to adopt a political party that shall waive the aforementioned fees and present a vibrant, patriotic and credible Nigerian, as its presidential candidate."

In attendance at the meeting were the following aspirants: Efeturi Cyprian Emeriewen – Governor (YPP); Frank Ufuoma Esanubi – Governor (ADP); Regina E. Oke – Senate, Delta South; Jerry O. Udomah – Fed House of Rep Ndokwa/Ukwani (SDP); Prince Igho Sadjere – Fed House of Rep Okpe/Sapele/Uvwie (ADP); Akpokona Omafuaire – Fed House of Rep Ughelli/Udu (ADC); Gloria Oghenerioborue Umukotete – Fed House of Rep Ughelli/Udu (PPA); Edafe Unuezi Oduh – Fed House of Rep Isoko (ADP); Austine Oghogho Okakor – Fed House of Rep Isoko (SDP); Yerindideke Mulade – Fed House of Rep Bomadi/Patani (SDP); Kennedy Markson Sanene – Fed House of Rep Bomadi/Patani (ADP); Chuks Okpunor – DTHA Aniocha South (ADP); Anthony E. Okubo – DTHA Bomadi (ADP); Tam Oburumu – DTHA Bomadi (YPP); Moses Yerins Fiemotonghan – DTHA Burutu 1 (ADP); Binebai Beecroft – DTHA Burutu 1 (YPP); Dike Amen Millah  – DTHA Burutu (ADC); Maxwell Ogor – DTHA Isoko South 1 (ADP); Godfrey Ovie – DTHA Isoko 1 (Labour), and Orevaoghene McDonald Olodia – DTHA Isoko South 2 (PPA).

Others were: Ikemefuna Anyasi – DTHA Oshimili North (ADP); Kingsley Ehensiri Akpederin – DTHA Sapele (ADP); Destiny Onojaine – DTHA Sapele (YPP); Andrew Ukpebitere – DTHA Ughelli North 1 (Labour); Igho Ruona Ugbegu – DTHA Ughelli North 1 (SDP); Paul Okparohwo Omuophu – DTHA Ughelli South (ADP); Blessing Owhe – DTHA Ughelli South (PPA); David Enawore – DTHA Uvwie (AAC); Omayeli Okotie Omayeli – DTHA Warri North (YPP); Barry Eboma – DTHA Warri South 1 (YPP); Armstrong Yomere (Rep) – DTHA Warri South 1 (ADC), and Amorighoye Otah (Rep) - DTHA Warri South 2 (SDP).