Former governor of Sokoto, Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko , who contested on the platform of the  Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) was today declared the winner of the election held on Saturday in the state.

The returning officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in the state claimed that Alhaji Wamakko won the election by polling 482, 212 votes while the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) came second trailing with 132, 725 votes.
The Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) was in a distant third place with 7,000 votes.

The ANPP complained of voters intimidation, police harassment, rigging and therefore rejected the outcome of the elections. Earlier the police had stormed the house of the ANPP leader in the state capital when tension began to build up over the final collation of results.

You may also like

Read Next