The Delta State Football Association chairman, Amaju Pinnick, was today in Warri elected the new president of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) after front runner Shehu Dikko controversially withdrew from the race.

Amaju Pinnick The former Director of Sports obtained 32 votes of the 44-man congress in a re-run ballot, having failed to get the required two-third votes in the first round.

During today's vote, a former NFF general secretary, Taiwo Ogunjobi had four votes while ex-international player, Dominic Iorfa got eight votes in the re-run.

Pinnick succeeds Aminu Maigari and has a four-year term during which he is expected to improve the NFF on all fronts especially in view of the conflicts and controversies in the federation in the last few months.

The election, just like the one that saw the aborted election of Chris Giwa a few weeks ago, started on a sour note as the electoral chairman was whisked away by security operatives before later being released.  It is however suspected that the Giwa-led faction might seek a court order to stop the new executives from parading themselves as duly-elected.

Pinnick’s first task would be to resolve Super Eagles manager Stephen Keshi’s contract.  He has been working without an official agreement since his old contract ended with the 2014 World Cup.

You may also like

Read Next