President Jonathan has ordered members of his cabinet interested in elective posts to resign from office. Minister of Information, Mr. Labaran Maku, confirmed this to pressman in Nasarawa over the weekend. He said that ministers who have political ambitions have been directed to resign their position by  on October 20. Labaran Maku

At least, about eight of the ministers are joggling to become governors of their states, even though some of them are afraid of leaving.

Among those expected to resign their appointments are Senator Bala Muhammed (Federal Capital Territory), Chief Emeka Wogu (Labour), Mr. Nyesom Wike (State, Education), Dr. Samuel Ortom (State, Trade, Industry and Investment) and Senator Musiliu Obanikoro (State, Defence).

Maku spoke at his home state, Nasarawa, on Sunday.

Among the ministers, it was however learnt that Muhammed, the minister of the FCT is seriously afraid to resign following the intelligence report the gathered that he was not wanted at home, Bauchi.

Because of this, he had been given money to some unemployed youths, asking them to demonstrate against his leaving Abuja.

You may also like

Read Next