Gen. Muhammadu Buhari (rtd.) today at the All Progressives Congress (APC) convention in Lagos won the presidential primary to carry the party’s flag at the 2015 presidential election to be held on February 15th 2015.

APC Presidential Aspirants Make Remarks At Party Convention In Lagos

The former Head of State grabbed 3,430 votes to beat former Vice President Atiku, Rabiu Kwankwaso, current Governor of Kano State, Imo State Governor Rochas Okorocha, and Sam Nda-Isaiah, publisher of Leadership newspapers, and to secure the bid.

Earlier yesterday, there were reports that some of the candidates had withdrawn from the race in favour of General Buhari, but they were later dismissed as false. The negotiations are thought to have delayed the start of the convention, which began at the Teslim Balogun Stadium venue hours later than expected.  

Buhari will square up against incumbent Nigerian president Goodluck Jonathan in a crucial election next year.

Voting totals: Gen. Buhari: 3,430, Atiku: 954, Kwankwaso: 974, Okorocha: 674, Nda-Isaiah: 10.

You may also like

Read Next