The Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Akure, the Ondo State capital, has nullified the election results for Ilaje/Ese Odo Federal Constituency for Ondo State.

Kolade Akinjo of Ondo State

The previous winner of that seat, Kolade Akinjo, will now need to re-contest that election according to the Election Petition Tribunal.

Justice Anthony Ogar, who headed the three-man tribunal, gave the verdict that Akinjo was not a member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at the ‎time of the election because he was a member of the Labour Party (LP).

Akinjo had defected, along with Governor Olusegun Mimiko, from the LP to the PDP.

However the candidate for the All Progressives Congress (APC) contesting against Mr. Akinjo, Lucky Ayedatiwa, claimed that he was never qualified to contest the National Assembly election.

At the‎ court, the Tribunal Chairman said by virtue of Mr. Akinjo's affiliation with the LP he should never have been allowed to contest for the National Assembly on the PDP ticket.

Previously the counsel to the APC candidate, Yinka Orokoto, argued that Mr. Akinjo never scored the highest votes to qualify him to represent the ilaje/Ese Odo in the National Assembly. 

You may also like

Read Next

Trending Now