The Nigerian Senate today resolved to send a seven-man team to South Africa, to probe the xenophobic attacks on Nigerians.

The team is led by deputy senate president, Ike Ekweremadu, who will be joined by majority leader Ahmed Lawan.

Others are the Chief Whip, Senator Sola Adeyeye; Deputy Chairman, Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs, Senator Shehu Sani; Senator Stella Oduah; Senator Magnus Abe and Senator Shaba Lafiaji.

The Senate decision came 48 hours after the South African Government deported 97 Nigerians for allegedly committing various offences in the country, just about the time their compatriots were victims of xenophobia in the country.

Deputy President of the Senate Ike Ekweremadu

You may also like

Read Next