Fatai Olotu, the impeached Deputy Speaker of the Ondo State House of Assembly, on Wednesday defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) along with four other disgruntled lawmakers of the House.

A SaharaReporters correspondent learnt that the other four members who joined the ruling APC are: Kuti Towase from Akoko South East, Akinyele Fasogbon from Odigbo II, Bimbo Fajolu from Ileoluji/Okeigbo, and Tuyi Akintimehin from Idanre.

Ade Adetimehin, the Deputy Chairman of the APC, received the embattled lawmakers at the Dome Event Centre in Akure.

On January 27, Mr. Olotu, who represented Akoko North East, was impeached with three other principal officers of the Assembly by some rebel lawmakers over a N15 million fraud.

On March 20, however, those the principal officers of the Assembly converted their impeachment to resignation after being assured of a soft landing despite the fraud allegations against them.

Today’s defection of the five lawmakers brings to 18 the members of the APC in the Ondo legislature, leaving eight lawmakers in the camp of the crisis-ridden Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the 26-member Assembly.

Those numbers significantly leave the APC with a two-third majority.

Sahara Reporters reported that the Ondo Assembly is comprised of 26 members at the House.

Mr. Olotu explained that he and the others decided to abandon the PDP owing to pressure from their colleagues in the state, adding that their decision to formally join the APC followed wide consultation with their constituencies.

He declared that the new defectors would be loyal to the government of Governor Rotimi Akeredolu, and work for the peace and progress of the Assembly.

Receiving the new members, Mr. Adetimehin praised them for taking a bold step by jumping out of the ‘sinking’ PDP, which is enmeshed in a leadership crisis.

He promised that the new members would be given equal opportunity in the APC.

APC Secretariat in Akure, Ondo State

You may also like

Read Next