The National Judicial Council (NJC) under the chairmanship of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Walter Onnoghen, has picked a retired Justice of the Supreme Court, Suleiman Galadima, as the new chairman of the Corruption and Financial Crime Cases Trial Monitoring Committee.

He is to replace Ayo Salami, the retired president of the Court of Appeal who stood down from the committee as the chairman, after initially accepting to serve.

The committee will be inaugurated Wednesday by Mr. Onnoghen, at the Council’s Conference Hall by 2 pm, a statement by Soji Oye, director of information of the NJC, said.

Mr. Galadima was born in October 1946 in Nasarawa State. He attended Government College Keffi where he obtained the West Africa School Certificate in 1965 before he proceeded to Ahmadu Bello University where he obtained a bachelor’s degree in Law in 1977 and was called to the Bar after he graduated from the Nigerian Law School in 1978.

He later received a master’s degree in Law from the University of Jos in 1985.

He joined the Anambra State Judiciary as Magistrate in July 1988 and in 1990, he was appointed Attorney General and the Commissioner for Justice, Plateau state.

On May 1991, he became the High Court Judge of Plateau State. At the creation of Nasarawa State in 1996, he was appointed as its pioneer Chief Judge of the State.

On December 9, 1998, he was appointed to the Court of Appeal and on August 2010, he was appointed to the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

He retired on October 10, 2016, at the mandatory retirement age of 70 years.

Mr. Galadima is famous for his leading judgement in Shina Oketaolegun Vs. State, SC. 334A/2012, where he held that the Court of Appeal correctly reviewed the evidence led by both the prosecution and the defense in which he agreed that the evidence of one credible witness can justify a conviction.

The Committee is made up of:

1 Hon. Justice Suleiman Galadima, CFR Chairman
2 Hon. Justice Kashim Zannah (OFR) -Chief Judge, Borno State

3 Hon. Justice P.O. Nnadi-Chief Judge, Imo State

4 Hon. Justice Marshal Umukoro - Chief Judge Delta State

5 Hon. Justice M. L. Abimbola - Chief Judge, Oyo State

6 Mr. A.B Mahmoud SAN, President, Nigerian Bar Association,

7 Chief Wole Olanipekun OFR SAN, Former NBA President

8 Mr. Olisa Agbakoba OON SAN, 
9 Mr. J.B Daudu SAN,

10 Mr. Augustine Alegeh SAN,

11 Dr. Garba Tetengi SAN,Member, NJC

12 Mrs. R.I Inga

13 Mrs. Hajara Yusuf Representative, Ministry of Justice

14 Alhaji Kabiru Alkali Mohammed, mni Representative, Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN).
15 Olanrewaju Suraj Representative, Non-Governmental Organisations
16 Ahmed Gambo Saleh, EsqSecretary, NJC Secretary.

Ayo Salami

The Chief Justice of Nigeria had in response to the concern expressed by members of the public on the very slow pace with which corruption cases were being heard and disposed of by Courts, and the need to fast-track the administration of Criminal Justice, directed the Heads of Court to set up Special Courts to speedily hear and determine corruption and financial crime cases and forward the comprehensive list to the Council.

The council approved the constitution of the Committee at its 82nd Meeting of September 27th, 2017 with the following Terms of Reference:-

i).     To monitor and regularly evaluate the progress and activities of courts designated to try corruption an financial/economic crime cases;

ii).   Advise on Practice Directions for approval by the Chief Justice of Nigeria to be applicable in all such courts across the

country with a view to eliminating procedural and administrative bottlenecks militating against speedy disposal of such cases;

iii).  Advise on the trainings, re-trainings and other refresher programmes for Judges and staff of the designated courts aimed at enhancing their capacities to function effectively;

iv).   Come up with an effective feedback mechanism from Heads of Courts to the Council on the activities and progress of cases before designated courts;

V).   Generally, advise Council on the day-to-day strategies for the monitoring and evaluation of the performance of the designated courts and on strategies for improvement in performance.

You may also like

Read Next