Nine airports across Nigeria risk closure over non-payment of workers of the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN) deployed to the various airports.

The airports are listed as Jigawa State Airport, Kebbi State Airport, Gombe State Airport, Victor Attah International Airport in Akwa Ibom State, Bayelsa International Cargo Airport, Taraba State Airport, Delta State Airport, Murtala Mohammed Airport Terminal Two (MMA2) and the Osubi Airport in Delta State.

It was gathered that a memo was issued dated April 22, 2019, notifying the airports management of the non-payment.

FAAN also stated that a previous memo directing the airports to pay its workers was discarded.

The memo read: “Following the notice of intention to sanction issued to owners/operators of private airports indebted to FAAN which lapses on Wednesday, 24th April 2019, FAAN hereby serves another seven days notice of grace till Tuesday, April 30, 2019, for them to settle the debts.

“In view of the above, the authority hereby notifies private airport operators that the services of our aviation security, as well as aerodrome rescue and fire fighting personnel, will no longer be available for operations of their airports with effect from Wednesday, May 1, 2019, as FAAN can no longer keep this personnel at airports without payment.”

You may also like

Read Next