Scores of police officers in four patrol vehicles have cordoned off the All Progressives Congress National Secretariat located at Blantyre Street, Abuja.

According to reports, men of the Nigerian Police Force alongside officials of the Department of State Service barred the entry and exit points to the secretariat to forestall a possible breakdown of law and order.

It was gathered that the ruling party's leadership mobilised the security operatives in response to security reports about a planned protest by members of the APC over the conduct of the recently conducted Ward, local government and state congresses.

The APC had been embroiled in internal crisis since the nationwide state congresses of the party which held on Saturday, October 16.

SaharaReporters had done an exclusive report detailing how the APC in Lagos State had three parallel congresses with one of the factions led by a former governor, Akinwunmi Ambode.

SaharaReporters had gathered that the national leadership of the party under Yobe State Governor, Mala Buni, recognised Ambode’s faction and his list of executives which is part of a coup and ongoing efforts to weaken the influence of the National Leader of the party, Bola Tinubu.

Top sources had revealed that Ambode's faction was sponsored by Buni, who is the Chairman, Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee so as to weaken Tinubu in his perceived stronghold.

“Lagos APC had three separate congresses; the people elected in Ambode’s faction and congress are backed by Buni. It is a coup against Tinubu,” a top source revealed.

SaharaReporters had obtained the list of the state executives elected by Ambode's faction; they are; Beatrice Omotayo Tugbobo, Chairman; Alhaji Dauda, Vice-chairman; Hon. Prince Adedeji Osho, Secretary; Hon. Akewushola Onoyemi, treasurer; Balogun Adekunle Hameed, Publicity Secretary; Youth Leader, Buhari Babajide Jimoh and Woman Leader, Ashafa Salawat.

Others are: Financial Sec, Prince Moruf.A. Anibire; Organizing Sec., Olamiji Alilu; Auditor, Adeosun Iyiola Abiodun; Legal Adviser, Wasiu Adeyemi Sulaimon; Youth Leader, Adelaja Moruf; Welfare Officer, Olusegun Moruf Bello; Ex-officer 1, Ibrahim Misbau Omoniyi; Ex-officer 2, Babatunde Collins Davies.

Apart from Lagos, there had been similar parallel congresses in Oyo, Ogun, Kano, among other states which further made the APC to be engulfed in internal wranglings and factionalisation.

You may also like

Read Next

Trending Now